Breaking promises, English

There’s few things that feel so shitty as when you have to break a promise, and having to do it because you have to keep another promise is just slightly worse. You’re put on the spot in the worst kind of way, having to prioritize between friends, duties and other things… frankly, it blows.A few years back, I had a real problem in saying no to people. I really genuinely wanted to help out if I could no matter what the cost. With time and guidance from People Who Know Better, I’ve learned that you can’t really help others until you yourself work as an individual. It’s taken me a long time to both realize this and after that to learn how to avoid it. It’s still difficult, but now at least I know to try.

Despite my failings in this area where I would agree to things that I couldn’t always deliver at least my intentions were good. Now, when I fail I don’t even have that to fall back on, and it just feels 130% shitty. If I’ve done this to you, I’m sorry… but in this specific case, I’d like to aim that apology to M. Didn’t mean for shit to happen this way. I’m sorry.

That being said, I am a bit of a hypocrite. While I used to (and at times obviously still do) give my word too easily and then break it, I have very low tolerance for people who do it to me. Yeah, I know… I’m a bit of a cunt. Mostly though, I don’t mind if people say that they’re gonna do something or plan something with me and they have to break it off for some reason… but what really gets my goat is when people make plans with me (especially if this involves a third party), and then forget they ever made the plans. That shit really pisses me off. Gives me the level of annoyance that borders on Insanity Light(tm). Anyway, that’s not what this is about. I really just wanted to publicly and somewhat eloquently apologize to M. Again, forgive me – I’ll do better.

Leave a Reply

